A Journey Through the Bible provides the foundation for a lifetime of spiritual enrichment through the reading of Sacred Scripture.

The Bible contains 73 books – 46 in the Old Testament and 27 in the New Testament. The genre include historical narrative, historical fiction, poetry, myth, prophetic literature, apocalyptic, and more. That rich diversity, while beautiful, may lead some to a frustrating struggle to understand the story.  This course isolates 12 books of the Old Testament to present the historical narrative from creation to the birth of the Messiah.  Understanding the plot of the Old Testament in a manner that promotes a fuller grasp of the New Testament is the aim of this course. 

In his Encyclical Letter Divino Afflante Spiritu (1942) Pope Pius XII wrote that a proper understanding of Sacred Scripture requires accurate texts in the original languages (and translations faithful to the original languages) and that they must be read in light of the indigenous, historical, and cultural contexts in which they arose. Due attention must also be given to the literary forms at the time of composition. The Second Vatican Council, in its historic document Dei Verbum (Dogmatic Constitution on Revelation) was keen to make the point that “the New is hidden in the Old; Old made manifest in the New.”

How to unpack that story of salvation history is what this course is all about. After completing this course a reader will find multiple layers of meaning within familiar Gospel accounts and will be equipped to dive deeper into the meaning of the New Testament books that often assume a familiarity with the Old Testament events, rituals, and personalities.  

Companion materials for Fr. Tom’s presentation on Salvation History

The following documents are printable resources to assist the reader in the embrace of Scared Scripture. All are reproduced in one form or another in the the PowerPoint presentation accompanying the four-part lecture by Fr. Tom 

1. Twelve Chronological Books of the Old Testament
2. Who What When Where Why

View or print .pdf here

3. Table of Nations
4. Fertile Crescent & Abraham’s Route
5. Route of Exodus
6. Plan of the Tabernacle in the Wilderness
7. Twelve Tribes Encamped Around the Tabernacle
8. Marching Order of the Twelve Tribes
9. The Conquest and the Twelve Tribes
10. The United Kingdom
11. The Divided Kingdom
12. The Assyrian Exile
The Babylonian Exile
The Return from Babylon